How do you feel when making a request?

Many people hesitate to involve their network in a request. What about you? Do you find it difficult to ask a question?

Are you also thinking: “Will they have time for me? Who am I to ask a question? Will they know the answer? Will anybody be able to help me? Will anybody be willing to help me? Will they know anybody who can help me? What will they ask in return?” Or do you think: “I have to be able to do this on my own”, “I don’t need anyone’s help”, “I don’t want to bother people”, “I don’t know them well enough to call them”, “People will think I’m weak/needy/stupid if I approach them about this”, “I have no right to expect others to help me out” or “I don’t want them to realize I need help with this”.

Then your inner thoughts may prevent you from enjoying the powers of networking.

But let me ask you a question. If somebody asks you for advice or to do him a favour and you really can help him out, what kind of feeling do you get? A negative, neutral or positive one? I think we can agree on a positive feeling: warm, happy, satisfied,… We all want to contribute. It is human nature to help each other.

Now, if we reverse this thought, we could say that by NOT making a request to our network, we deprive them of the chance to help us and to get a positive feeling.

So, what are you waiting for: start asking questions and make other people feel good!

To your success !

Jan

PS: this is an abstract from my networking book “Let’s Connect!”

One Response to How do you feel when making a request?

  1. Bang on te vragen?

    Vragen staat vrij, nee zeggen ook is een veel gebezigde uitspraak van mijn goede vriend JanWillem Wolff.Jan Willem verstaat als geen ander de kunst van het vragen. Zelf zegt hij dat hij een gen mist voor gene, en elke keer

Leave a Reply

