Networking Tip: Rolodex Dipping

I have been writing a few blog posts about the NSA convention and the things I learned there. This is another one ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s something I learned from Christine Comaford-Lynch and which she also mentions in her book “Rules for Renegades“.

She calls it “Rolodex Dipping“.

This is how she describes it in the book:

“This is a fun practice when you want to connect with someone but aren’t sure who. Flip through your contact database until you find a name that makes you smile. Then call that person up just to see how he or she is. Your contact will be surprised and delighted.”

Note: if you don’t know what a Rolodex is: it is a simple system to store business cards. Not in a box, but kind of a wheel. Google it if you want to see the picture ๐Ÿ™‚

As you could already read in a previous blog post I am an advocate of storing your contact details electronically as well.

For me this “Rolodex Dipping” works also in other ways. If I’m stuck with a project or want to have new ideas, just going through my contacts always helps. Sometimes in strange ways: by reading a name I come up with things that have totally nothing to do with hem or her.

I don’t know the psychological explanation for this (if you do, please post this so I can learn :-)), but the result is there and that’s what matters.

I have a small assignment for you: do some Rolodex, Outlook or other contact database dipping for a few minutes and see what idea comes into your mind or which person stands out from the rest. Act upon the idea you get or call that person and see what happens.

Have a great networking day !

Jan

Founder of Networking Coach

Leave a Reply

