A question that is asked in our presentations and training courses a lot is: What will happen when I remove a connection on LinkedIn? Will he be notified?
There are occasions you want to remove some of your contacts. The reasons might be that something happened between you and another person, that you are changing jobs or that you are reorienting yourself and don’t want to be associated with a certain industry anymore. Personally only the first reason would be reason enough for me to remove a connection. In the other cases you might never know who they know or who can help you in your new situation.
Before I show you how to remove a connection, let ‘s start with a question that many people have: “I don’t want to be connected anymore to that person, but I don’t want him to know that because I don’t want to get in trouble with him.”
The answer is: no, the person you remove as a connection won’t be notified.
These are the steps to remove someone:
1. In the left menu, click “Contacts”.
2. In the new page you will see at the top right hand side: “Remove Connections”.
3. Choose the connections you want remove and click the button “Remove connections”.
The connections will not be notified that they have been removed. They will be added to your list of “Imported Contacts” in case you want to re-invite them later.
To your success !